Martin Erhardt

deutsch english 

Martin Erhardt dedicates his musician's life to art as well as pedagogics, to theory as well as practice, to improvisation as well as composition and interpretation, to the Middle Ages as well as the renaissance and baroque period.


Born in Kronach in 1983, he studied recorder with Prof. Myriam Eichberger, harpsichord/early keyboard instruments with Prof. Bernhard Klapprott and music theory with Prof. Klaus Heiwolt at the Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt Weimar. He completed his studies, absolving a master's degree for "Early modal music" at the Fontys Conservatory in Tilburg, Holland, with Prof. Dr. Rebecca Stewart and Prof. Maurice van Lieshout. In 2008 he was awarded the Franz-Liszt-Prize by the Hochschule fr Musik in Weimar, in appreciation for his social and political activities along with his excellent artistic achievements.


Since 2006 he has been teaching music theory and Improvisation in Early Music at the Hochschule fr Musik in Weimar and recorder at the Konservatorium in Halle (Saale). In addition, since 2009, he has been teaching Improvisation in Early Music at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Leipzig.


He also taught at many workshops for Improvisation in Early Music in Frankfurt/Main (D), Lyon (F), Bergen (N) and Cosenza (I). At project weeks dedicated to special topics within the field of Early Polyphony, he is teaching regulary in Halle, Prague and Tilburg.


Moreover, he is active as a freelance recorder player, harpsichordist, portative organ player, singer, organist and gamba player in many ensembles for Early music, namely the ensembles Wooden Voices (baroque chamber music), Nusmido (early vocal polyphony), all'improvviso (improvised music of the 13th - 18th centuries), Schola Stralsundensis (sacred renaissance music), Cantus Modalis (vocal polyphony) and Fala Musica (late medieval music). He is closely attached to the "baroque band" The Playfords.


Martin Erhardt performs together with actress Katrin Schinkth-Haase (Kein Ort. Erxleben.) and dancers such as Mareike Greb, Lieven Baert and Jutta Voss - especially playing the pipe & tabor, the popular 'one-man-band' of the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. His portative organ was built by Marcus Stahl (Dresden).


Since 2005 he has established a scene for improvisation in Early Music in Weimar, Leipzig and Dresden with the legendary Early Music-JamSessions. He is the author of the textbook Improvisation mit Ostinatobässen and the director of the Leipziger Improvisationsfestival, probably the only festival completely dedicated to concerts, workshops, jam-sessions and lectures about improvisation in Early Music.

Download press photo

Photo: Thomas Peters - Quedlinburg

Download curriculum

different versions: short-detailed, deutsch-english-francais.

  • back to top

Martin Erhardt

 deutsch english

In seinem Musikerleben widmet sich Martin Erhardt gleichermaen Kunst und Pädagogik, Theorie und Praxis, Improvisation, Komposition und Interpretation in Mittelalter, Renaissance und Barock.


1983 im oberfränkischen Kronach geboren, studierte er an der Hochschule für Musik Franz Liszt Weimar die Fächer Blockflöte bei Prof. Myriam Eichberger, Cembalo/hist. Tasteninstrumente bei Prof. Bernhard Klapprott und Musiktheorie bei Prof. Klaus Heiwolt sowie Frühe Modale Musik am Fontys Conservatorium Tilburg (NL) bei Prof. Dr. Rebecca Stewart und Prof. Maurice van Lieshout. 2008 verlieh ihm die Hochschule fr Musik Franz Liszt Weimar den Franz-Liszt-Preis in Anerkennung seines sozialen und hochschulpolitischen Engagements in Verbindung mit exzellenten künstlerischen Leistungen.


Seit 2006 unterrichtet er Musiktheorie und historische Improvisation an der Weimarer Musikhochschule sowie Blockflöte am Konservatorium in Halle, und seit 2009 ergänzt ein Lehrauftrag fr historische Improvisation an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy Leipzig. seine pädagogische Tätigkeit.


Workshops fr historische Improvisation leitete er u.A. an den Musikhochschulen in Frankfurt, Lyon (F), Bergen (N) und Cosenza (I). Bei Projektwochen fr spezielle Themen der Vokalpolyphonie unterrichtet er regelmäßig in Halle, Prag und Tilburg.


Als Blockflötist, Cembalist, Portativspieler, Sänger, Organist und Gambist musiziert er in verschiedenen Ensembles wie Wooden Voices (barocke Kammermusik), Nusmido (frhe Vokalpolyphonie), all'improvviso (improvisierte Musik des 13.-18. Jhs), Schola Stralsundensis (geistliche Musik der Renaissance), Cantus Modalis (Vokalpolyphonie) und Fala Musica (Musik des Sptmittelalters). Eng verbunden ist er auerdem mit der Barock-Band The Playfords.


Martin Erhardt tritt gemeinsam mit der Schauspielerin Katrin Schinköth-Haase (Kein Ort. Erxleben.) und mit Tänzern wie Lieven Baert und Mareike Greb auf, insbesondere mit Einhandflöte&Trommel, der populären "Ein-Mann-Kapelle" des Mittelalters und der Renaissance. Sein Portativ baute Marcus Stahl (Dresden).


2005 initiierte er mit den AlteMusik-JamSessions in Weimar, Leipzig und Dresden eine Szene fr improvisierte Alte Musik. Er ist Autor des Lehrbuchs Improvisation mit Ostinatobässen und Leiter des Leipziger Improvisationsfestivals, das vermutlich einzige Festival, welches sich in Konzerten, Workshops, JamSessions und Vorträgen der Improvisation Alter Musik widmet.

Pressefoto Download

Foto: Thomas Peters - Quedlinburg

Curriculum Download

Verschiedene Fassungen: kurz-mittel-ausfhrlich, deutsch-english-francais.

  • zum Seitenanfang